Mar. 28th, 2016

akuchling: Sherlock Hemlock (Default)

Here's what I'm submitting for my nominations. I watched all of the dramatic presentations, and have previously read many of the stories.

Best Novel: "Tarzan in the Forbidden City", Edgar Rice Burroughs; "If This Goes On--", Robert A. Heinlein; "The Wonder City of Oz", John R. Neill; "The Ill-Made Knight", T.H. White; "Typewriter in the Sky", L. Ron Hubbard

Best Novella: "The Mathematics of Magic", L. Sprague de Camp, Fletcher Pratt; "Darker Than You Think", Jack Williamson

Best Novelette: "The Roads Must Roll", Robert A. Heinlein; "The Mound", H.P. Lovecraft and Zealia Bishop; "It", Theodore Sturgeon

Best Short Story: "The Tree on the Hill", H.P. Lovecraft and Duane W. Rimel; "Strange Playfellow", Isaac Asimov; "Thus I Refute Beelzy", John Collier; "Evening Primrose", John Collier; "Tlön, Uqbar, Orbis Tertius", Jorge Luis Borges

Best Graphic Story: Batman #1; Flash Comics #1; All-American Comics #16 (first appearance of the Green Lantern); Doc Savage Comics #1.

Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form): "Fantasia", dir. Norman Ferguson et. al.

Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form): "A Wild Hare", dir. Fred Avery; "Black Friday", dir. Arthur Lubin; "The Ape", dir. William Nigh; "The Mummy's Hand", dir. Christy Cabanne; "Dr Cyclops", dir. Ernest B. Schoedsack.

Best Editor, Short Form: John W. Campbell, Jr.; Fredrik Pohl; Raymond A. Palmer; Farnsworth Wright; Mary Gnaedinger

Best Professional Artist: Edd Cartier; Virgil Finlay; H.R. Hammond; Hubert Rogers; J.W. Scott

akuchling: Sherlock Hemlock (Default)

Here's what I'm putting on my Hugo nomination ballot. Order is not significant.

Best Novel: "Uprooted", Naomi Novik; "Slade House", David Mitchell; "The Just City", Jo Walton; "Ancillary Mercy", Ann Leckie; "The Shepherd's Crown", Terry Pratchett

Best Novella: "The Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn", Usman Malik; "The New Mother", Eugene Fischer; "Waters of Versailles", Kelly Robson; "The Bone Swans of Amandale", C.S.E Cooney; "Inhuman Garbage", Kristine Kathryn Rusch

Best Novelette: "Another Word for World", Ann Leckie; "And Never Mind the Watching Ones", Keffy R. M. Kehrli; "Fabulous Beasts", Priya Sharma; "And the Balance in Blood", Elizabeth Bear; "Our Lady of the Open Road", Sarah Pinsker

Best Short Story: "Loving Grace", Erica L. Satifka; "A Call to Arms for Deceased Authors’ Rights", Karin Tidbeck; "Tear Tracks", Malka Older; "Wooden Feathers", Ursula Vernon "Hic Sunt Monstra", Brian Trent

Best Related Work: "Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison Of Belief", dir. Alex Gibney; "You're Never Weird on the Internet (Almost)", Felicia Day; "The Call of the Sad Whelkfins: The Continued Relevance of How To Suppress Women’s Writing", Annalee Flower Horne, Natalie Luhrs; "Space Helmet for a Cow: The Mad, True Story of Doctor Who", Paul Kirkley; "Guided by the Beauty of Their Weapons", Philip Sandifer

Best Graphic Story: "Shutter vol. 2: Way of the World", Joe Keatinge; "The Wicked and the Divine, vol. 2: Fandemonium", Kieron Gillen; "The Sculptor", Scott McCloud; "Ms. Marvel vol. 2: Generation Why", G. Willow Wilson; "Oglaf" (2015 strips), Bodil Bodilson

Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form): "Mad Max: Fury Road", dir. George Miller; "Predestination", dir. The Spierig Brothers; "Ex Machina", dir. Alex Garland; "Sense8", season 1, dir. the Wachkowskis et al.; "The Omega Factor", season 1, Big Finish Productions

Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form) "Trouble's Brewing", Other Space; "Astroburger", iZombie; "World of Tomorrow", dir. Don Hertzfeldt; "Heaven Sent" + "Hell Bent", Doctor Who S9; "Basic RV Repair and Palmistry", Community S6

Best Professional Editor (Short Form): Lee Harris (of Tor); Edmund R. Schubert; Ellen Datlow; Silvia Moreno-Garcia; John Joseph Adams

Best Professional Editor (Long Form): Nick Mamatas; Sheila Gilbert; Jonathan Strahan; Anne Groell; Anne Sowards.

Best Professional Artist: David Palumbo; Jeffrey Alan Love; Forest Rogers; Stephan Martinière; Jon Foster

Best Semiprozine: Uncanny; Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine; Black Gate; On Spec; New York Review of Science Fiction

Best Fanzine: File 770; James D. Nicoll Reviews; SFF World; Rocket Stack Rank

Best Fancast: Vaginal Fantasy, Felicia Day; Sword and Laser, Veronica Belmont; The X-Files Files, Kumail Nanjiani; How Did This Get Made?, Paul Scheer, June Diane Raphael; Who's Round, Toby Hadoke

Best Fan Writer: Philip Sandifer; Alexandra Erin; Natalie Luhrs; Nick Mamatas; James D. Nicoll

Best Fan Artist: Bodil Bodilson; Zach Weinersmith; Morgana M. Wallace; Elizabeth Leggett; Guo Jian

The John W. Campbell Award: Lou Anders; Andy Weir; Usman Malik; Noelle Stevenson


akuchling: Sherlock Hemlock (Default)

September 2016

2526272829 30 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Sep. 23rd, 2017 03:55 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios